Friday, February 25, 2011

2011 WDC World Super Series - Asian Open Professional Dance Championships (ADC Open Dance Tour - Tokyo, Japan)

This was my 3rd year at the ADC Open Dance Tour and I was still impressed by the efficiency of the Japanese in everything that they do. I arrived on a beautiful sunny Saturday with temperatures of 2 degrees - perfect for someone coming from a hot hot country. Unfortunately, the Prince Hotel did not have my room ready yet but I had the good fortune to arrive at the same time as Wantanee from Thailand and we both met Aleena Tan from Singapore in the hotel lobby so we had lunch together to while away the time till the rooms were ready.

The welcome dinner on Saturday night served an excellent 4 course European meal and most of us polished off our plates. I was delighted to see many of the judges that I had worked with before during the first two tours and we all greeted each other warmly. Two fellow Malaysians were also present at the dinner - Dato Dr Henry Ooi and Alex Lim, so I felt quite at home. After the meal, we were given quick briefings by the organizer - Mr Isao Nakagawa, and the chief adjudicator - Mr Robin Short. The tour schedule for 2012 was also announced and Mr Geoffrey Chun of Korea also announced his plans for a championship later this year.

The day of the competition dawned bright & sunny, which was a good thing as many of the judges were a little jet lagged and I'm sure the sun made things feel a lot more cheerful. The first batch of judges pushed off from the hotel at 7:45am to prepare for the competition which started at 8:30am. The schedule was really tight and the working committee kept everyone on their toes to keep to the time table. Thought there were only a total of 6 events it took a total of 12 hours to complete the competition. The event with the most entries was the Asian Open Professional Latin with 117 entries! Here are the details.


Mr Robin Short - UK (Chief Adjudicator)
Dato Dr Henry Ooi - Malaysia
Mr William Bae - Korea
Mr Geoffrey Chun - Korea
Mr Hannes Emrich - UK
Ms Hazel Fletcher - UK
Ms Yumi Futatsumori - Japan
Mr Massimo Giorgianni - Italy
Mr Marcus HIlton, MBE - UK
Mr Lei Chi Hong - Macau
Mr Anthony Hurley - UK
Mr Soernarko Josodihardjo - Indonesia
Ms Wanthanee Kanchana - Thailand
Mr John Kimmins - USA
Mr Kenny Kwan - Macau
Mr David Lee - Taiwan
Mr Alan Li - Macau
Mr Alex Lim - Malaysia
Mr Sammy Liu - Taiwan
Mr Ariel Llanillo - Philippines
Mr Satoru Morikawa - Japan
Ms Hiromi Nagai - Japan
Ms Hazel Newberry, MBE - UK
Mr Ferenc Polai - Austria
Mr Steve Powell - UK
Mr Paul Richardson - UK
Mr Svein Rotvold - Norway
Mr Espen Salberg - Norway
Mr Kenji Seto - Japan
Mr Michael Stylianos - UK
Mr Yoshimitsu Suzuki - Japan
Mr Takuhide Takeda - Japan
Ms Allena Tan - Singapore
Mr Manfred Wang - China
Mr Kenny Welsh - UK
Mr Dharshan Wijesooriya - Sri Lanka
Mr Ji Xiaoming - China


Asian Open Professional Std - #99  Arunas Bizokas & Katusha Demidova - USA

Asian Open Professional Latin - #123  Riccardo Cocchi & Yulia Zagoruychenko - USA

Amateur Open Std - #13  Andrea Ghigiarelli & Sara Andracchio - England

Amateur Open Latin - #30  Jurij & Jagoda Batagelj - Slovenia

Asian Closed Std - #59  Alex & Melody Hou - Taiwan

Asian Closed Latin - #3  Ning Lu & Ding Fang Zhang - China


Congratulations to all the champions!!

The next leg of the tour will be in Taipei, Taiwan on the 28th February 2011. See you all there.

No comments: